I prayed for this child and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him. So now I give him to the Lord. For his whole life will be given over to the Lord. –1 Samuel 1:27-28

I can’t believe it’s been 6 weeks since Noah was born and I still haven’t blogged! It’s partially due to not having a computer– water damage really rained on my writing parade (pun intended hehe)

The past 6 weeks have been amazing, hard, tiring, overwhelming, amazing, amazing, and more amazing. Being a mom is honestly way harder than I expected. But also WAY better than I could have ever imagined.

With that being said I’ve been trying to think of the right words to write pertaining to Noah’s birth story. I was definitely in HUGE denial about the pain of labor & delivery, and I was definitely in denial that I was in labor, even when my contractions were coming 3 minutes apart.

So here goes the short version, I’ll save the nitty-gritty details for my journal… ;)
I woke up at 3:45am on August 7 to a “popping” noise. I walked to the bathroom thinking I just had to pee for the 26th time that night. However, that noise ended up being the sound of my water breaking. My contractions began almost immediately and started coming 5 minutes apart. My poor husband was working overtime early into the wee-hours of the morning and I called saying, “I think it’s time.”

My birth plan surprisingly went almost exactly as planned. Laboring for awhile at home; walking outside, going to target for a few last minute things, and bouncing on an exercise ball. At 3pm after my contractions were becoming pretty unbearable and coming steady at 3 minutes apart my mom and mother-in-law both talked me into heading to the hospital. I ended up being 5-6 cm around my admission time and I was pretty excited with the news. I started thinking my labor was going to be short and over in no time. Of course that was completely wishful thinking and I was stuck at 7 cm for 4 looong hours, because of Noah’s position.

I knew from almost the beginning of my pregnancy that I really wanted a natural birth experience- or at least to try it. I’m in no way against epidurals, but I knew a woman’s body was created for birth and God would be in it with me from start to finish. There were definitely times (LOTS of them) when I asked for pain meds. I’m not going to lie labor is pretty painful. In fact, I’ve never experienced pain to this degree before. But, my husband was honestly the most amazing coach and talked me through each time I thought I could no longer bear the pain. My wonderful midwife and nurse also did an amazing job distracting me from my own questions. Somehow, I didn’t end up with an epidural and I owe it to my wonderful husband, amazing support system and praying… A LOT. And so, finally, after my breathing exercises, screaming and feeling like my hips were literally breaking apart, I was fully dilated. I don’t remember the exact time I started to push, but I do remember the nurse coming up and whispering in my ear so only I could hear, “you’re going to have a baby.” And after about 20 1/2 hours of labor and 30 minutes of pushing, at 12:21am on August 8th, I pulled a “Kourtney Kardashian” and literally pulled the most precious, beautiful baby boy out of me.

I feel like this blog does not do Noah’s story justice. For anyone who has not experienced it, I wish I could fully explain the emotion, pain and joy of childbirth. All I can say is that birthing a child is a life altering, empowering experience. I remember sitting in the rocking chair during the hardest part of my labor, thinking wow, this is the pain that Jesus went through. This is what it’s like to take almost unbearable pain for someone you love deeply. Someone that you haven’t met, but know you love. Childbirth was such a spiritual experience for me. And as painful as that day was I feel like it’s yet another gift that God has given me. To not only have this gift of life, but to also get just a teeny glimpse of the love that Jesus feels for me. It’s truly amazing.

Here are a few photos of Noah…

20120915-220717.jpg

20120917-210523.jpg

20120917-210604.jpg

