For some reason the thought of even blogging right now seems extremely overwhelming and daunting. I wish I could blame it on pregnancy hormones, and the extreme tiredness I’ve been feeling, but considering October 8th was my last post, and I have not been preggo since then… I would totally be lying!

Anywhoo, I just can’t get over how even the simplest day-to-day activites REALLY seem overwhelming to me; like grocery shopping, doing the dishes, cleaning… every seemingly normal routine I feel like a complete failure at. Maybe this is normal??? Who knows, all I know is I feel extremely guilty sitting at home all day watching Netflix, and my husband comes home from a long hard day at work and immediately starts doing the dishes and cooking me dinner. I mean, I know I am forming this little life in me, but really? After a few hours of tv I should be able to do SOMETHING!! I guess it’s very fitting that my first post is complaining about how overwhelming everything seems to be in my life right now. Maybe this is just God’s way of introducing how I will feel as a parent, especially when I have a newborn.

Thankfully no matter how many mistakes I feel like I’m making, or how many things I feel like I should be doing, I have this constant Joy that I am growing this little life in me. Hearing our little babes heartbeat for the first time last week, was absolutely AMAZING. I feel like pregnancy has brought this new awareness of God in my life. The fact that he alone is forming this human- he’s developing, nurturing and growing a PERSON in my womb. It’s not me that’s making the changes in my body, or controlling the well-being of this baby. God has made a woman’s body to know how to do this- from an egg and sperm- Crazy, amazing and just plain cool. Through this simple revelation I almost feel like God is bringing me back to a place of “newness” with him. I seriously feel like I’m a new Christian again, with the ability to just sit in awe and amazement at who He is, and to really want to desperately grasp the understanding of what He has done for us.

As few days ago I got stuck on Ephesians 4:21-24… for some reason I could not get this scripture out of my head. I was feeling frustrated because of my own complacency that I fall into about my faith.

When you heard about Christ and were taught in him in accordance with the truth that is in Jesus. You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness. Ephesians 4:21-24

I remember devouring this scripture as a new believer. In fact, I think I even wrote a blog about this scripture as a new believer. I just feel like as Christians we forget at the significance, truth, and victory of this scripture. This morning I was watching Return to Me on Netflix. For those who have not seen the movie it’s about a woman who needs a heart transplant, and ends up receiving one from a woman who dies in a car accident. She later falls in love with the widowed husband, but they both do not know she has her heart. All I could think as I was watching this movie is that this woman must know the significance of her life. Her life was bought with a price- another woman died to give her life. I sat there thinking of the burden this woman must feel to live each day with purpose. She has life- she has this heart, because of the death of another person.

The amazing thing about that analogy is that WE all are living in that same situation as the character in Return to Me. We are given new life, new holiness, new righteousness, and all of those things were bought with a price.  Yet, for some reason we so often forget. As I was reflecting on that, I couldn’t help but think, am I living my life in accordance to that statement… am I living my life with purpose, and with Joy that matches up to what Jesus did for me?

We are all given new hearts, from someone that had to die to give us life. If that is not enough to bring change, I don’t know what is.

Read and reflect on the truth, and significance of this scripture today, and the new life it brings…

When you heard about Christ and were taught in him in accordance with the truth that is in Jesus. You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

Ephesians 4:21-24

