This past Saturday my almost hubby & I went to Waterville, where we attended one night, of a 3-part conference. They had a speaker from the Bethel Church out in Redding, California, who was discussing strong-holds, fear, and how so many times we let our past determine our future. After we left that night I started thinking about how our pasts really are the only thing Satan has on us. He can’t read our minds, he has no idea the plans that God has for each of us… so really, the only way he can try and make us stumble is by throwing our past back in our faces. And so often we are the ones that let the enemy determine our future. In my own life I’ve been letting the enemy whisper little lies into my ears… whatever I thought I could possibly fail in, I just wouldn’t do, or try it. I was putting God in my own little box, and ripping myself off to God’s plans for me, all because of a little fear called, failing.

Anywho, I jotted down a few quotes from this guy (I cannot remember his name for the life of me!!) that I really loved. And thought they would help some other people break strong-holds too…

– Your past is not your issue, it’s your current beliefs.

– God likes to use people who have issues, because he has no one else to use

– If there was a perfect ministry for you to attend, the minute you walked into it, it wouldn’t be perfect anymore

– Every Spiritual leader needs an oil change every 3,000 ministry miles. Renewed thoughts, renewed minds, renewed spirits.

– Our lives are a constant battle between truth vs. lies. It’s either truth, or a lie… we’ve got to discern it and speak against it.

– Life is in the power of the tongue

– You are transformed into the person you worship. How do you see Jesus? Stiff, rigid, loving, joyful… you are transformed into that person.

– If a baby determined whether he could walk on his past attempts, he’d never walk.

– An apple tree doesn’t say he doesn’t have apples when he’s not bearing them. It’s always an apple tree, even when you cannot SEE them.

I really felt like hearing this sermon was HUGE confirmation in my own life, and what Ethan & I have been praying through. This conference couldn’t have come at a better time for the decisions we are making together as future husband and wife. And I stand firm in saying this is a time in our lives… especially as young adults, where God is trying to get us to wake-up, and see that the best predictor of our future is not determined by our past. The best predictor of our future is determined on whether or not we can see ourselves the way God see’s us. If we can lay our baggage down at his feet, walk in His truth and allow him to set us free from the lies. We all have the ability to stand firm in the path he has for us and we cannot let our own fear change the course of God’s plan.  God is committed to full restoration in every person. It is up to us to run with this gift, or push it away to just sit in the same place. We have to do the work too– We must press on, walk in obedience to His truth, and pray to gain wisdom & discernment in our battle between truth and lies.

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

Ephesians 6:12

