It’s Thursday, which means it’s actually Friday for me! Yippeeee! Today, I’m pressing in and putting on the full armor of God. First off, I have to say, I will never understand why I can wake-up in the middle of the night, WIDE awake and ready to take on the world. Yet, I can’t seem to get up to my alarm at 7am! It’s just one of life’s little mysteries I guess. ;-D

Anywho, I woke up this morning at 4am and felt like God really wanted me to read and press into Ephesians. I’ve been going through Song of Songs, for a few obvious reasons. The first being that I am a soon-to-be bride and I feel like no matter how uncomfortable it may be to read such awkward, affirming words of love that Solomon wrote to his beloved, it’s actually quite romantic. And secondly, Song of Songs gives such an amazing picture of the love God has for his Church and people. It paints this picture that displays how we are his beloved’s; whether it be male or female… God speaks the same words of love and encouragement to us. So, when I woke up feeling led to read Ephesians, I kind of assumed it was to focus in on the scripture of being his workmanship (Ephesians 2:10)

But nope, as always God took me down the path I wasn’t expecting. This season of my life is just so crazy. As exciting as it is to be a bride, it’s also freaking scary. I’ve always been a “runner” so as horrible as this may sound, the thought of never being able to run scares me. The thought of going home every night, not really having my own space REALLY scares me. Every part of my being knows that God has ordained this marriage , but regardless it’s a scary process. Then, tack on family issues, planning, and life in general and it’s quite the recipe for disaster… without the armor of God. More and more I’m realizing the importance of the full body armor that God generously gives to us. Without this armor we are pretty much screwed in our Christian walk. And I can admit, I’ve let this go in one ear and out the other, many times.

Right when we walk out our front door we are faced with lie, after lie, after lie. Spiritual warfare is going on all around us, every second of the day. The movies we watch, or the magazines we read DOES influence, and open doors for the enemy to walk in, whether we want to admit this, or not. For instance, last night Ethan and I watched, Blue Valentine. This movie is STILL on my mind in a pretty intense way.Watching this movie gave the enemy a huge foothold, and opened up old and new fears. But when we put on (and this is about to sound so corny), the belt of truth, the breastplate of righteousness, the sandals of peace, the shield of faith, the helmet of salvation, and the the sword of the Spirit, we can live to stand against oppression and Spiritual warfare. We can live in the World, fully prepared to fight each and every battle, and win. We don’t have to wait for the final war. We can have the victory in each circumstance, each trial and each thought pattern.

This is God’s gift to us, that we have the ability to use in our everyday lives…

Be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. “Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. “And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints….”  Ephesians 6:10-18

There are so many times where I get caught up in the struggle against flesh and blood. I’ll get consumed by the hurtful words of friends, or family members and in turn this causes me to react in ways that are not of God. There are so many times where I think, well this is just the way it’s going to be. I’m always going to feel like this, I’m always going to be like this. We (I) justify and point fingers, yet God is begging us to understand that with the full armor of God, these things will slide off our shoulders. We will begin to realize the devils scheme’s, and that he is constantly trying to take our eyes off the righteousness of God, by attacking every area of our lives. The enemy wants us to believe that we will always be a certain way, or we will never be able to break generational sin. He attacks every part of us and wants our thoughts, our bodies, and our decisions. And if he’s doing this to us, he’s certainly doing this to the people around us. The devil will use anyone, or anything he can do to distract us. Many times he uses the annoyances of the people in our lives and often the people that are closest to us. However, God gives us the full armor to protect us from these schemes. The full armor of God will always produce victory in our lives, and the full armor of God is far more than just a protective covering in our lives and over our sin, it is actually Jesus Christ himself.

There are so many times I overlook this FULL armor of God that is available to us. When we overlook this, and only take advantage of one area of armor, we will always leave doors open. God gave us this armor so we can put it on as a whole, not so we can just use the sections we see fits best. Again, we need the belt of truth, the breastplate of righteousness, the sandals of peace, the shield of faith, the helmet of salvation, and the the sword of the Spirit. We need to put it ALL on so each battle can produce the victory that God intended.

