I don’t know why this song has been on my heart so much lately.  I’ve been thinking a lot about the first time I heard this song, and the impact it had. God really spoke to me through it and just completely ravaged my heart, and showed his truth in the words. At that time I was struggling in letting go of my past and stepping into this new light of who I am as a daughter in Christ. That same morning when I first heard this song, I had an appointment with the prophetic prayer team at my Church I was going to at the time. It was a combination of hearing this song and having this appointment completely changed my path, and my walk with God. I had never met these ladies before and as each of them began to read the index cards of words they felt the Lord wanted me to hear, I just sat there in shock. How could these ladies know so much about me? The scriptures, the details were just so right on. How did they just hit to the core what I was struggling in and what I needed to hear?– That God loves me. That I am his daughter, I am dressed in His pearls and I am His bride. I do not have to do anything to earn this, that someone does see me, that someone finally loves me the way a daughter should be loved. Oh my gosh, my father loves me.

There are so many Christians who walk with the head knowledge of how much God loves them, but it never transfers to the heart. There are so many Christians who have never fully encountered the love of God. The sad thing about this, is that is the one thing God really wants from us. He wants us to fully experience his love. There is absolutely no way we can even begin to love others the way we are called to, unless we hold what is in our heads, in our hearts too. That love really allows us to forgive others, and to stand firm in truth when things come up in our lives that feel so overwhelming.

I think my favorite part in this version of the song has to be when Kim Walker totally just belts out this amazing prayer to God, asking Him to completely ravish each persons heart in that room. Each time I hear this it gives me goosebumps, because it is so right on…

“His presence, his love, is so thick and tangible in this room tonight, and there some who have not encountered the love of God. And tonight God wants to encounter you and wants you to feel his love, his amazing love… but the love of God changes us, and we’re never the same, we’re never the same after we encounter the love of God, we’re never the same after we encounter the love of God!! And right now if you haven’t encountered the love of God, and you would know because you would never be the same again, and if you want to encounter the love of God right now, you better just BRACE yourself because he’s about to just blow in this place. And we’re going to encounter the love of God right now, So God I speak to all the hearts and I ask that every heart be open right now, every heart be open, every spirit be open right now for a love encounter to you tonight.” –Kim Walker

I just felt so strongly that I needed to write this and to say, if you don’t know what that love looks like, or feels like, I really urge you to just sit in this song. I urge you to tell God how much you want to feel that love, how much you desire to know him and how much you long to be in the presence of His love. Again, there is a huge difference in reading a scripture that says how much God loves you, verses encountering His love. He is jealous for the head and the heart. And I’ll tell you, that morning I finally made this connection, my life was never the same. I was never the same. Day by day, month by month he began to change me. And then one day, you wake-up and realize, oh my God… You really do love me so much. Every past regret, every past hurt is wiped away… You are no longer the victim in your life, tied up in your yesterday’s, still trying to shout to get people’s attention. And then, you really begin to follow the dotted line that God maps out for us in our struggles and this becomes known as his faithfulness.

To this day, when I’m feeling discouraged, or overwhelmed I go to this song. I sit in this song and I just let God lavish his love on me. I tell him I need to receive right now, I need to know how he really see’s me and I need to feel like his daughter… but most of all, I just need to be loved… God is so faithful in our surrender.

