First off I’ve been totally in love with this song lately. It’s so so so good, listen to it!

Secondly- this morning as I was driving to work, while asking the Holy Spirit to come and fill me, he spoke to me with new revelation & wisdom about the purpose and direction of my life. This purpose is something that he’s continuing to reveal to me in His timing, but I did get a few glimpses of what he’s preparing me for… so I do want to ask for y’alls prayers as both Ethan and I begin this journey together.

Life is so exciting with the Holy Spirit. I don’t think I really ever understood the importance of the Holy Spirit, until moving back to Maine. Maybe this was just something that God was not ready to reveal to me until now, but truthfully I don’t remember the Holy Spirit being a huge topic of discussion at my Church down South, in any of my classes at Charleston Southern, or any of the bible studies I was apart of. It really saddens me that some churches fail to recognize this important aspect of the trinity. Experiencing the Holy Spirit has been the driving force in significantly changing my relationship with the Lord. Being in tune with what the Holy Spirit is saying to you and where he is guiding you is so important. In fact, I believe often times it’s when the Holy Spirit gets excluded from the mix, that legalism and self-righteousness rises to the top in a persons relationship with God. It no longer becomes about experiencing the impact of God’s love, but shoving the Word down people’s throats in a legalistic manor.

He has made us competent as ministers of a new covenant—not of the letter but of the Spirit; for the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life. -2 Corinthians 3:6

Truthfully, I am not bashing any Church. I do feel like God loves each Church and people do worship the Lord better in different settings. But I do have a hard time with the Church who isn’t guided and led by the Spirit. The bible is full of miracles, people being overcome by the Spirit and heck, Mary gets impregnated by the Spirit. I really just don’t understand how the Church can dismiss this aspect simply for the fact that it may scare people. Yesterday, I heard our Pastor say, “The Holy Spirit is not going to look normal.” How right on is that? Encountering the Holy Spirit is not going to be some hum-de-hum oh, look at that bird flying in the sky everyday occurrence. If you believe in Jesus, you have to believe in the Spirit, which means you are going to see things that are not like the norm, because God is not of the norm- he is not like us. Gosh, I praise the Lord that he is not like us- that he is bigger than anything we can say or do. I praise the Lord that in this broken world, we do get these amazing glimpses of what his Kingdom will be like when we meet Jesus face-to-face. These glimpses come through encountering the Holy Spirit.

Scripture even states that when Jesus took human form, he was also led by the Spirit…

Luke 4:1

Jesus, full of the Holy Spirit, left the Jordan and was led by the Spirit into the wilderness, where for forty days he was tempted by the devil. He ate nothing during those days, and at the end of them he was hungry.

In fact, it is through encountering the Holy Spirit that I knew I was going to marry Ethan. The Holy Spirit gives us our gifting and he knows who we would be best fit with, to glorify God’s Kingdom. It’s funny because Ethan and I were having a conversation the other day about the possibility of moving. ***I feel like I need a little disclaimer in here before I go on: WE ARE NOT MOVING RIGHT NOW, JUST DISCUSSING FUTURE THOUGHTS. Anywho, I had to laugh when he looked right at me and said, if we move we will have direction, jobs lined up, we are not just moving on a whim, or on a feeling. Ethan and I could not be anymore different than each other- which trust me, this is such a blessing to both of us. I definitely need someone who is firm and isn’t necessarily all wrapped up the aspect of feelings, or fly by the seat of your pants with decisions. Honestly, what amazes me the most about my soon to be hubby is that when I look at Ethan, I see Jesus in him- I see how the Holy Spirit led me to him and how he put us together for a very specific reason. Words cannot even explain how much this just fills my heart to know that we will help each other walk out the purpose that God has for each of us. There is seriously no better feeling than that.

Anywho, I don’t know why God has put it on my heart to stress the importance of the Holy Spirit… I guess it’s the Holy Spirit! haha! I just cannot say enough how much it’s changed me; helped me grow, given me clarity, insight, wisdom & direction. I pray that as each of you read this, the Holy Spirit fills you, gives you new revelation for your life. That he makes the purpose he has set for you clear. I pray that not only does he give you the head knowledge of the love he has for you, but he fills your heart with such an impact, that you know you have encountered the love of Christ. And once you have, I promise this… you will never be the same.

Hope everyone has a great Monday, Love you all! xoxo

