Oh Lordy Lord, Tis the season of Lent. Which means my facebook newsfeed is being blown up by people trying to figure out what to “sacrifice” for Lent. Seeing some of these posts are actually the highlight of my day. Talk about a nice little inside giggle sesh for me.

“I’m giving up Lent for Lent”

“Giving up beer for lent (except St. Pattys) this is gonna be interestingggg”

“Giving up beer and Chocolate for Lent- so not fun.”

“Giving up taking shots just on Wednesday nights at the bar.” (okay this one really made me laugh)

“If last night was an example of what I am going to be like for the next 40+ days without beer, then I apologize ahead of time”

“Hmmm what to give up for Lent, so tough this year!”

“Lent is stupid”

I’m sorry if someone is reading this and they just happen to see their facebook status in my blog. Except for my cousin Wayne… I will give him a nice shout-out. Wayne Hope is “giving up Lent for Lent.”

Anywho, the topic of Lent has been on my mind for the past couple of days. Seeing as the majority of people on my facebook are giving up beer, taking shots, wine, hard alcohol or twisted tea’s for Lent. It’s just been making me think back to my pre-understanding Jesus days. I think one year I tried to give up wine and chocolate, but didn’t make it the whole way through. Gosh, I remember it being pretty tough. So I am totally sending out prayers to all y’all who are trying to give up something for Lent. Good luck!

It’s funny because before I became a Christian, I really didn’t understand what the big deal was about drinking. In fact, part of the reason I was so skeptical about following Jesus was for the fact that I didn’t think I could live up to all the “rules.” I liked my wine, I liked my margarita’s… and guess what? Now, as a Christian I don’t just like those drinks, I love them.

Ephesians 5:18

Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit.

Ephesians 5:18 does not say do not drink wine, it says do not get drunk. I know some sects of Christianity believe you shouldn’t drink at all. In fact, I just giggled a bit because I had this image pop into my head of an older Southern lady saying, “alcohol is of the devil.” I think most non-believers think Religion consists of a person looking down on you with a ruler to slap you on the hand every time you do something wrong. Which is completely wrong and I feel like I can safely say that most Churches believe drinking in moderation is okay.

However, instead of getting drunk… “be filled with the Spirit.” Being filled by the Spirit is something you can’t really explain, you just have to experience it yourself. Often times being filled with the Spirit is acting in a way that reminds you of a drunk person. For me when I drink too much wine, I laugh a lot… about anything and everything. So when I am overcome by the Holy Spirit, I experience similar effects. I laugh and giggle. Sometimes I’ll be in worship, singing and just giggle for no reason. That is one example of a manifestation of the Spirit and it’s effect over me.

I like to think of the Holy Spirit of this natural high that you get (which trust me is way better than being drunk) So when someone gets drunk or does drugs, it is manipulating the natural, God given “high” that everyone has the ability to experience. In fact there is even a term called being “Drunk in the Spirit.” People who were filled with the Holy Spirit appeared as drunk to people who did not understand (Acts 2:15). Many have been “drunk in the Spirit” as they appeared inebriated, staggered, laughed uncontrollably, spoke with slurred speech, and had a dizzy look in their eyes. Paul even wrote about being “beside himself” for God, in 2 Corinthians 5:13…

“If we are out of our mind, it is for the sake of God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you.”

In saying all that, I still love my wine & love going out for drinks. I just know that drinking leads to debauchery. Someone always does something stupid, acts foolishly and feels like crap in the morning. Yes, it’s fun while you are doing it, but it really does give the enemy a foothold in your life. I pray that everyone gets the chance to experience the Holy Spirit. Trust me, I am in no way looking down on people who drink, alcohol or bars. I’m just saying from experience that being “drunk on the Holy Spirit” is this amazing, intimate experience that we all can have with our creator and being drunk is a rip-off dollar-store version of experiencing God. (not meaning any offense to the dollar store, I do love that place)

I’m just sayin’… you can take it or leave it. But PLEASE keep posting what y’all are giving up for Lent! It keeps me entertained at work.

Love you! xoxo

