Let us acknowledge the LORD; let us press on to acknowledge him. As surely as the sun rises, he will appear; he will come to us like the winter rains, like the spring rains that water the earth.” -Hosea 6:3

I really love my life. Period. That’s all there is to it. And you would think that by how much time I’ve spent trying to pray myself out of certain seasons, I would spend equally as much time in prayer, thanking God for this season where he has just blessed my life immensely.

And I swear y’all, it feels like I get more “ah-hah” moments by hanging out with 8th graders or high school kids than anywhere else. When I was helping out with East Points youth group I was hit by a 2×4 and realized how measly and minuscule my problems really are. I realized that I actually had a brown paper-bag over my head and somehow I forgot to poke eye holes in it to see what was going on outside my own little claustrophobic world. And even though my mom once gave me a coffee mug with the words, “It’s all about me” on it. In all reality, it was not really all about me at all.

God orchestrated yesterday’s events perfectly. I started my day off by meeting up with a friend for breakfast and we had a nice little 2 hour chat. She was expressing to me how she was going through a difficult season, because she didn’t “feel” God like she always had. After meeting up with her, I went about my day not even really thinking twice about how that conversation could apply to my life also. The rest of my day was jam packed and I didn’t even do the one thing I REALLY needed to get done. I guess the DMV will have to wait again!

Anywho, then last night I tagged along with Ethan to “help-out” with our Church’s youth group, where he’s a leader. Helping out actually meant I was hit by another 2×4. In the midst of finding an amazing Church, amazing community and an amazing boyfriend, I had put putting my amazing Savior on the back burner. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some community and I really do value each person and the importance of it. However, lately I had been filling each and every minute of my spare time with coffee, breakfast or lunch dates. Only to give God my left-overs. I think this stemmed from my time in Charleston, where the importance of community was shoved down my throat. Yet, I never really felt like I fit in at my Church or in any of my bible studies. So now that I’ve finally found a place I know without any hesitation that I’m supposed to be here, I really do want to jump in 100%. However, until last night at youth group I didn’t realize how distant I had been feeling from God also. I’ve been so busy filling my schedule and in the midst of my business I failed to noticed all the things I’ve been putting before God. I came to the realization that I was having more conversations with other people about God, rather than with God. What scary trap to fall into.

It’s overwhelming how many ways the enemy manipulates even the seemingly good priorities in our lives. For instance community; in scripture we read the importance of it. Yet, when we shift our focus to prioritizing community before God, the enemy is quick to come in and play with our ability to discern events the way God wants us to see them. We start discerning and using words that other Christians speak, rather than hearing from God ourselves. This is where that phony Christian lingo comes from, those phony prayers and then we become fluid in that “Christianese” language.

Thankfully, Jesus is such an amazing pursuer of our entire heart- not just half of it, but the whole thing. Seriously, I cannot tell you how in awe I am of him. And I love that he will not settle for less than he knows I can give. After youth group, I literally just laid across the chairs in the sanctuary, listening to Jesus Culture.  Poor Ethan was moving stacks of chairs around, trying to put the place back together, while I’m just soaking up the presence of God. Sometimes it’s hard for me to realize that slowing down does not imply laziness. It’s okay to breathe, it’s okay to not say yes to everyone and it’s okay to just sit with a cup of coffee, by yourself and not do anything.  It is in that moment where he will reveal himself.

I found this awesome scriptural based response that God has for all of our concerns. Community is great for fellowship and for receiving advice, but we can find ALL the answers we need just by spending time alone with him…

You say: “I’m too tired”
God Says: I will give you rest (Matthew 11:28-30)

You say: “Nobody really loves me”
God Says: I Love you (John 3:16 & John 13:34)

You say: “I can’t go on”
God Says: My grace is sufficient (II Cor. 12:9 & Psalm 91:15)

You say: “I can’t figure things out”
God Says: I will direct your steps (Proverbs 3:5-6)

You say: “I can’t do it”
God Says: You can do all things (Philippians 4:13)

You say: “I’m not able”
God Says: I am able (II Cor. 9:8)

You say: “It’s not worth it”
God Says: It will be worth it (Romans 8:28)

You say: “I can’t forgive myself”
God Says: I FORGIVE YOU (I John 1:9 & Romans 8:1)

You say: “I can’t manage”
God Says: I will supply all your needs (Philippians 4:19)

You say: “I’m afraid”
God Says: I have not given you a spirit of fear (II Timothy 1:7)

You say: “I’m always worried and frustrated”
God Says: Cast all your cares on ME (I Peter 5:7)

You say: “I don’t have enough faith”
God Says: I’ve given everyone a measure of FAITH (Romans 12:3)

You say: “I’m not smart enough”
God Says: I give you wisdom (I Cor. 1:30)

You say: “I feel all alone”
God Says: I will never leave you or forsake you (Hebrews 13:5)

Be encouraged knowing that God is with us always (Matthew 28:20)

You say: “It’s impossible”
God Says: All things are possible (Luke 18:27)

