What a stinking good start to the day! I don’t know if y’all have heard the song, “You won’t Relent” by Kim Walker & Chris Quilala, but it’s 13 minutes and 35 seconds of amazingness (Yes I know amazingness is not really a word, but just go with it) I’ll post the video below, but here’s a small part of the lyrics that spoke to me:

You won’t relent until You, have it all
My heart is Yours
You won’t relent until You, have it all
My heart is Yours

Come be the fire inside of me
Come be the flame upon my heart
Come be the fire inside of me
Until You and I are One

It really is just so awesome how God works. I literally woke up with this burning desire in my heart to write. I mean picture this; I’m brushing my teeth, spitting toothpaste everywhere. In my hair, on my Uggs, around the sink, all because I’m so consumed in writing down every thought and word that God was speaking to me. C’mon I know y’all have had those moments, so don’t make fun! But seriously, isn’t it annoying when life and your job get in the way of that moment where you just want to spend time alone with God?! ;-)

In saying all that, this blog is pretty much a shout out to all those chickadee’s out there. Last night I had so many of what I like to call, Oprah “ah-hah” moments. The lovely sweet birdie, Gael Culver spoke last night at EPIC on Gentleness (Didn’t she do just an awesome job?!!) Gael had so many great points during her speech, but what really spoke to me was how confident and firm she was in recognizing the authority we have and the royalty we are as women in Christ. I got choked up just seeing her face light up as she spoke. I know so many women struggle with the concept that Christ is the ultimate pursuer. Christ will not relent until he has it all. As women we sometimes struggle in understanding that there isn’t a man out there that can, or will even come close to pursuing us the way that Christ does. And instead of letting Christ pursue us to the max, we look to men for that satisfaction. Only to be let down each and every time. And trust me when I say this, we will be let down each and every time.

Last night Ethan and I were chatting about EPIC. For those who haven’t heard of it… it’s a group that meets every Tuesday night. Anyone from ANY Church or background can go and it consists of people in the age range of 20-30, who all have the common goal of loving others the way Jesus loves us. Anywho, Ethan made me giggle when he started telling me one of the things he really loved about me was that I don’t struggle with jealousy or feeling “threatened” by other girls.  This was such a HUGE compliment to me, because at one point in my life I was that girl.  I’ve been on both sides; the side where I wasn’t liked by other girls who had boyfriends and although I hate to admit this, I have also been that girl who picked apart the pretty girl.

I was reading a blog awhile ago and found this quote, “Our definition of ourselves is bound up in our perception of other women. We see ourselves through comparisons with our mother, our sisters, our friends, and our colleagues. For a whole host of reasons, we have a hard time seeing ourselves as separate individuals with destinies of our own. Instead, we view our identities as a kind of zero-sum game: We succeed where our mothers fail; we gain what other women lose. We can’t envision succeeding or failing on our own terms; we can only measure ourselves against other females. So first we envy the powerful women we see in the media, and then we symbolically triumph over them as they crash and burn.

Um, how right on is this quote? Ouch, it hurts to read. But this quote reinforces the significance of finding your identity in Christ. Women really do often function in a zero-sum game mentality, as if there can only be one winner. We have a scarcity complex and for some reason we act as if there’s not enough of God’s goodness and blessing to go around. Ladies, we don’t have to fight for this. And ladies, we certainly are NOT the measuring sticks of what other women need to live up to. We need to let Christ be that measuring stick.

Jealousy is a state of fear; Fear is a lack of trust in God, and what does scripture say about fear? (Gosh, sorry guys I’m on such a kick about letting go of fear lately!)

There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.  -1 John 4:18

The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” -Romans 8:15

There is no room for jealousy in our love affair with Christ. We are HIS bride, we are HIS royalty and we certainly are HIS workmanship. We are not slaves to the media & the world’s view of women. And as women in Christ, we need to reexamine ourselves. If we need restoration and healing, look to Christ. If we need confidence and clarity in who we are, then ask. Pray for these things. Our hope is not in man, but in the Lord. Our identity is not in man, but in the Lord. As women we need to clearly understand this concept. We need to fill our hearts so full of Christ so there is not room for an ounce of jealousy, envy, comparison, or malice. It is only when our focus switches from the unseen to the flesh & outward appearance that breeds such emotions. 2 Corinthians 4: 18… so we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

So gals, if you are prone to falling into jealousy and envy, (and we all do from time-to-time) focus on putting yourself in a position of authority. Let’s resist temptation and display self-control so the enemy can’t breed those thoughts in our mind. If you struggle with comparing yourself to other women and this produces insecurity, don’t stalk pictures of other girls on facebook. Don’t let yourself fall into the trap of comparison, this speaks against the purpose to what we were created for. It gives the enemy a strong foothold in making us believe those societal standards that will never live up to. We can’t forget that God made each of us for a purpose. Everything down to the place our freckles fall on our skin, to our hair color was made for HIS specific purpose. Let’s relish in that instead of putting all of our energy into what we don’t have. Cause let’s just face the facts, we are all awesome, amazing, royal, Godly women that have one heck of an inheritance.

So, as I was listening to Kim Walker and Chris Quilala belt out some amazing lyrics this was my prayer while driving to work this morning; Lord, my heart is YOURS. Only yours and I will set you as a seal upon my heart. I want YOU to be the fire inside of me. I want YOU to relentlessly keep setting that fire until YOU and I are ONE. Come dwell inside of me, I WON’T RELENT UNTIL YOU HAVE IT ALL. I know that you WON’T relent until you have it all. And Jesus, thank you for your endless pursuit of my heart.

