A life devoted to things is a dead life, a stump; a God-shaped life is a flourishing tree. — Proverbs 11:28

Okay, so here’s the deal. I promised myself I wouldn’t write this, I promised myself I wouldn’t respond… but as y’all can see, I really just can’t help myself. I even prayed about it, but I just have this burning desire in my heart to write. And because it’s 5:50am on a Saturday morning, I’m guessing Jesus would want me to write it also.

I’m not a debater by any means. Actually, not gonna lie, I got kicked off the debate team in the 7th grade. Seriously, someone could be debating the fact that Hitler was an awesome man and I would even lose that argument. I laugh at everything- when I’m nervous, when I’m embarrassed. When someone tells me their dog died, even in arguments. I guess it’s my coping mechanism. I’m the type of gal who gets all flustered with my words, my heart starts racing, the palms start to sweat and nothing comes out right. So when it comes to debating my faith, sorry folks… it just ain’t gonna happen. I’m not going to say this is my biggest pet peeve, because I unfortunately have a lot of them. But, I absolutely HATE & extremely DISLIKE, when people try to debate Jesus with me. I could have a Doctorate in Christianity- or even better I could have walked with Jesus and I STILL would lose the argument.

It’s an absolute guarantee that you probably have bigger words to throw at me and more intelligent things to say. But here’s the thing that I really, really, reallllllly do believe; Big words lead to small thoughts. I hate when people try and dance around the truth by acting all smart & throwing out big words. Seriously y’all, I’m sure your Ma is quite proud that you won the 10th grade spelling bee. However, I could care less. Am I being too harsh? Sorry. (as she giggles)

And for writing. People please, I know my blogs contain improper grammar, periods & commas in the wrong places. Yes, I know you aren’t suppose to start sentences with and or but. BUT, this is the thing, I’m not a writer, I’m not a teacher and I’m certainly not an English major. I’m a 24 year old girl; a fun-loving, workoutaholic, food-admirer, Jesus-loving nut. Which, is what I’m perfectly content with.

So, the other day a friend told me to check out this link on his facebook page. I’ve read this thing over and over and over again, plus one more time. The article was about what happens when we die & how all religions are right. I was sitting there, trying to figure out a way to stick up for Jesus, trying to find the words to explain why this certain article could not possibly be true. Well, I couldn’t find the words, all I could say was, “It’s a quite interesting article, I don’t believe it to necessarily be true… great writing though.” It’s kinda funny too, because I’m always getting picked on for writing blogs and I joked around saying, I’ll just go write a blog about it. As I stated before, I promised myself I would just leave it alone… but I can’t.

Sometimes I get down on myself for not being able to stick up for Jesus, for not having all the knowledge or the words to say. But here’s the thing, I am okay with this. I truly don’t feel like it’s my job to fight for him. He’s bigger than me, he’s more powerful, wonderful and magnificent than anything I could possibly say. Paul writes this in 1 Corinthians, While knowledge may make us feel important, it is love that really builds up the church. Love- now this is what I can do. I love me some lovin’ on people.

Jesus is going to get whoever he wants- in his timing. It’s not about the right words, because faith does not make sense. If you are not open to it, if you do not desire it, you will always find an argument against it. I’m a believer and I can still argue against it. Anne Graham once said, “…for years we’ve been telling God to get out of our schools, to get out of our government and to get out of our lives. And being the gentleman He is, I believe He has calmly backed out. God is a gentlemen, if you shut him out, he will say ok- have it your way, do it on your own.

It was just a little over two years ago, where I was walking along the beach at Lands End and I felt God for the first time. I didn’t know what the heck I was doing when I quit my job, quit school and sent a text message to my family saying I was moving to Charleston, in two weeks. Did it make sense? No. Has God proved how faithful he is? For sure. If you want it, if you desire it- he will give you an abundantly fulfilling life. He will fill you with more freedom, more joy, more peace than you could ever imagine. If you don’t want it, he will back down.

“There are two kinds of people: those who say to God, ‘Thy will be done‘ and those to whom God says, ‘All right then, have it your way.’ — C.S. Lewis

