I have so freaking much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving week/weekend! That’s right, I’m making Thanksgiving a week-long low-country, Southern fun-filled event. Say that 10 times fast. Anywho, what I’m about to write will absolutely, positively NOT come as a shock to those who know me well. BUT, here I go… I LOVE CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA. I really, really, really do. This probably sounds so corny and cliche, (go ahead and poke fun) but this cute little city will always hold a special place in my heart. After all, this was the place where I found Jesus (or where Jesus finally got my attention) and the place that allowed me to grow a close relationship with my cousin. She turned into not only a best-friend, but a sister to me. My little preggo S. Ho and her husband are two of the most amazing, young Godly people that I know and they are very near and dear to my heart. Golly, I just love them…

I was able to spend Thanksgiving with my Aunt, Uncle and cousins in North Augusta, which is about 3 hours from Charleston. Donald’s family also lives there and are all Clemson Alumni and HUGE Clemson sports fans. Actually, saying that are all HUGE Clemson fans doesn’t even begin to describe them. They have season tickets to the football games and so graciously allowed me to attend the biggest game of the year, against USC. Unfortunately, Clemson lost, but we had such a good time tailgating & watching the game. My camera broke right before I left for Chas, but I took a few pictures off my phone. Not the best quality, but it works…

We got back into Charleston Sunday afternoon and I was able to catch the evening Church service at St. Andrews. I love, love, love the old historic building where they hold the Sunday night services. The worship area is small and intimate, with old pews that have the adorable little doors and a place to kneel and pray. Nothing can make me feel closer to God, than taking communion and being able to kneel to pray in the pews. I love being back in the old South- So many times I took for granted the beauty of those old Southern Churches, with the enormous weeping willow trees that hover them.

I also was able to sneak away and catch up with Miss Stephanie Brockmann. I love this girl and miss her so much! Again, off my phone so the quality is horrid, along with me looking like a whale next to miss skinny minnie. Actually, maybe it’s the stripes. Note to self: Don’t rock the striped shirts anymore, not flattering.

I absolutely LOVE walking around downtown Charleston. This city has so much character in the old architecture and downtown is filled with the most amazing restaurants, coffee shops and little art galleries. At night all the old fashioned lanterns are lit up and I use to love going for walks at this time; window shopping and exploring all the old cobblestone alley-ways was one of my favorite things to do. Ugh, miss this so much! Sarah and I walked through the market and hit up Caviar & Bananas, one of my most favorite places in Charleston. They have the most DELICIOUS, wine, cheese-platters, sushi, coffee, desserts, salads, anything and everything under the sun. This place definitely floats my boat…

I definitely have this little love affair (okay mild obsession) with Charleston. In my heart I don’t feel like God will ever bring me back to this city to live here, but there’s something about this place that makes my heart feel all giddy. This was the place that I truly found who I was & whom I’m meant to be.  Sorry peeps- I’m a corny kinda gal, but it’s true.  Charleston, along with the wonderful people I met along the way, really helped me let go of trying to be what others wanted me to be- and just simply let me be, me. This visit to Charleston was also so significant, because I’m starting to get a small glimpse of the direction in ministry God is leading me towards. Slowly, but surely he’s opening doors, closing doors and giving me some insight. In his timing I’ll figure it out. Until then, I’ll keep on truckin’, bloggin’ and just enjoyin’ life! Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving! I sure did! :)

