What a week, what a week… and it’s only WEDNESDAY!

Here are the top 5 things in my life that are keeping me somewhat sane this week:

1.) This poster seriously had me cracking up.  I love reading blogs so I don’t find it alllll that true, but still it’s quite comical….

2.) Almond Joy: chocolate, almonds, coconut… need I say more?

3.) Apple Cider Whiskey Martini: I tried this for the first time last night & **OH MY GOSH** this was seriously to-die-for. I’m not normally the whiskey drinking kind of gal, but this has forever changed my view on whiskey. Here’s a little recipe for everyone to try. You can’t go wrong with this drink on cool fall night, sitting by the fire place… Again, need I say more?

4 oz apple cider
6 oz whiskey
1 oz  fresh lemon juice
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp superfine sugar
1 tsp brown sugar
Combine all ingredients and pour mixture into shaker of crushed ice. Shake and pour into 2 martini glasses. Garnish with thin slice of apple and a cinnamon stick.
4.) Ray LaMontagne: I just never, ever, ever get sick of him.

5.) Jesus and his Grace: This is DEFINITELY keeping me sane this week. I’m a worry wort, I’ve complained (a lot) and sooo many times in the midst of a crazy week I forget what’s really important .  I become so consumed in comparing myself and trying to obtain these unreachable expectations and I get so caught up in me, in the word I. When in reality it’s certainly not about me… or my independence, or my egocentric thinking. It’s not about trying to make myself look perfect or like I don’t have faults, because without these flaws, without my imperfections there would not be this AMAZING thing called Grace. I could not imagine living without it…

“I do not at all understand the mystery of Grace- only that it meets us where we are, but does not leave us where it found us.” – Anne Lamott

So this is why I need Grace [especially this week] This is what I try to hide, but who I really am…

I am hard headed. I am soft-hearted. I am tender. I am tough. I am a giver. I am a taker. I am a fighter. I am a peacemaker. I am a lover. I am a hater. I am outgoing. I am shy. I am a bridge burner. I am a risk taker. I am cautious. I build up. I tear down. I am prideful. I am humbled. I am a seeker. I have walls. I am a believer. I am a sinner. I am selfless. I am selfish. I am joyful. I am NOT perfect.

… which is the EXACT reason why I need Jesus.

