It’s 6am on a Saturday morning. I’m seriously bOreD OuT oF mY MiNd. There are 4 people here at the gym, why are we opened this early? And why do we have to play 80’s music all morning long. I mean I do love a good Heart song, but not 7 hours of 80’s music. There are also only so many facebook pages you can look at without wanting to pull your hair out… and my brain is not fully functioning this early to study. Ugh, I need to just delete my facebook account for real this time.

Anywho, Sooo I guess I’ll apologize first. Yeah, I know I’m in one of those phases where I’m really bad at answering/returning phone calls (*sigh*AGAIN). Sorry Jenny! I’ve just turned into one of those people who really, reallllly hates the cell-phone. Unless I’m talking to Sarah or Mike… for some reason we always stay on the phone for like a ridiculous amount of time. Usually, because I’m freaking out about having to stay at one place for a prolonged period of time. Or for a little while, I somehow ridiculously actually believed that I was called to be single. I guess that’s where finding contentment in Jesus will lead you. It’s funny because the other day I was having yet another, “I don’t know if this is what I’m called to do moment.” I mean, sometimes I just feel like I’m not doing enough by sitting in a classroom all day. I love love love Jesus and I think if I had it my way I would just travel around, sharing how much I love the Lord with no plan, rhyme or reason. Just travel and get all giddy and happy when talking about him, that’s all. I can always tell when I’m going through that restless phase too. It really does make sense, I mean I’ve been back in Maine for almost 3 months now. Usually around the 3 month mark I’m ready to switch majors, schools, apartments, location… whatever change I can find. However, now I recognize the pattern and I’m getting really good at praying myself out of those feelings. Realizing that it’s normal to be restless… and this too shall pass. What a good saying, “This too shall pass”… story of our lives, huh?

I guess what really made me realize that I was going through a restless period was when I started thinking I was called to do some sort of missionary work. Yeahhhh, I can barely even go to the gym without putting mascara on. It’s a nice idea and all, but really made me chuckle when I came back around to reality. There’s no doubt in my mind that I’m exactly where I’m suppose to be. Growing in the Lord, becoming independent in him. He’s opened so many doors for me here in Maine; Young Life, youth group, my first mission trip in January! And what do all the ministries involve… kids. Teaching is my ministry. Especially given my background and what I’ve been through… ugh, oh how I wish I had Jesus in my life through high school! Sometimes I think my life has to be all adventurous and crazy for Jesus. That I need to start RIGHT NOW!! However, I do realize that God is preparing me right now. A friend was reminding me the other day that Jesus didn’t begin his ministry until he was 30.  Truthfully, I never really thought about that… I just turned 24, I guess sometimes I need to cut myself a little slack. I’ve realized that so many times I tend to get ahead of myself and that’s what actually trips me up and ultimately puts me behind. PATIENCE Chrissy, PATIENCE.

Anywho, I’m going to get my change soon enough. Yesterday, in Farmington we had our first snow flurries of the season! In OCTOBER! I’m also moving up to Farmington in January. My life will soon consist of the library, class, Jesus and SNOWBOARDING. Seriously, could life get much better? Probably not. Pandora is also helping me with switching things up a bit. I’ve finally branched out of my country music zone and I’m in LOVE with the Needtobreathe station on Pandora… Love LOVE LOVE these songs, y’all should check them out!

-The Longer I run- Peter Bradley Adams

-Carry Me through- Dave Barnes

-From Where You Are- Lifehouse

-Hey Love- Chris O’Brien

-Rain Falling Down- Jimmy LaFave

 

Okay and one more random thing! I also found this addition to the serenity prayer that I thought everyone might like…

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

(additional lines)

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.

Have a great weekend!

