Ahhh… Do you ever have moments that literally just knock the breath right out of you? Gosh, I love that feeling! I was driving home from school today, with a pumpkin spice coffee in hand, just looking around at the beautiful scenery AND the beautiful weather.  Realizing, just how much I really freaking love my life! I was listening to this song by Jeremy Riddle that I’m just so IN LOVE with right now…

At the cross you beckon me, Draw me gently to my knees and I am lost for words, so lost in love. I’m sweetly broken, only surrender. What a priceless gift, undeserved life have I been given. At the cross I must confess, How wondrous your redeeming love and how great is your faithfulness…

Seriously, this song could not relate any better to my feelings towards God. There have been so, so, so many times I feel at such a loss for words, as to how much love and joy he has filled my heart with. This song got me thinking about the sermon at church yesterday. It was such a simple sermon, but in the midst of my crazzzzyyy morning, this was exactly what I needed to think about. I know I’m not the only person that often overlooks how many good things there really are in this world. All the simple pleasures we just seem to forget about like, crawling into a freshly made bed at the end of the day, FOOD, the Jeremy Riddle song that I LOVE, Thursday nights with Victoria, laughing till you pee your pants (oh, is that just me? :-p) Anyways, how many times do we forget that life was made to be GOOD, life was made to be ENJOYABLE. John 10:7-10 says… Therefore Jesus said again, “I tell you the truth, I am the gate for the sheep. All who ever came before me were thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them. I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved. He will come in and go out, and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

Alright, so my day did not start out with me pooping rainbows and just freaking loving my life! Don’t y’all just love those mornings when you wake up at the same time you’re supposed to leave? Yup, that’s what happened this morning- I hope everyone can sense my sarcasm when I say I just LOVE those days. Let me just fill everyone in on a few more things that I LOVE. I also forgot to buy french vanilla creamer, so my usual cup of coffee for my hour and a half drive was out the window. Oh, and I love that feeling when you’re the girl who walks in late to a class. I love when everyone stares at you with no make-up on, hair not brushed. To top things off, I grabbed a sweatshirt out of the dryer, just threw it on and seemed to have missed the thong that was stuck in the hood. Trust me… it sounds ridiculous, but that has definitely happened a few times to me- quite embarrassing! Anywho, I was actually only 3 minutes late to class, not really even a biggie… but I super-sized it (hahaha get it?!) It was just one of those mornings. I was practically on the verge of tears throughout my class… there was so much on my mind. The girl sitting next to me had to be absolutely freaking annoyed. I have this leg tapping, restless leg syndrome thing that I do when I get anxious and my ADD was acting up so I was that girl tapping my pen a mile a minute on my desk. Eventually, I gave up any hope of learning statistics and just started writing out a prayer.

I’m oh so glad I snapped out of that pity party early this morning! Seriously though, I was thinking about this on my drive home. Why do we always focus on the negative, when there is SO MUCH good in this world? Why do I complain about driving an hour and half to school, when I get to drive through the most beautiful parts of Maine? I’m constantly talking about how much I love the fall, constantly talking about how I want to spend more time in prayer. Well, God has blessed me with being able to start my day driving through the mountains, looking at the leaves changing, driving through the adorable little town of Belgrade.  He’s given me the opportunity to spend 3 solid hours a day to stand in awe of what HE created and on top of that he gave  me the ability in having alone time to pray, before the craziness of the day starts. Ugh, when I stop and think about all the blessings that I’ve overlooked just to complain… that’s something that just realllly ruffles my feathers!

So in my attempts to not have those “pity-party” days, I wrote a bunch of my favorite bible verses on sticky notes, to stick on my mirror.  Hopefully this will help keep things in perspective, even in the midst of those crazy mornings! But if that doesn’t work… Seriously people, PUH-LEASSSE give me a swift kick in my rear-end if you ever hear me sweating the small stuff. Especially, when I have SO much to be thankful for!

What a priceless gift, undeserved life, have I been given…

