John 3:16

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Tonight, I was watching the cutest couple interact. You could just tell by the way he looked at this girl how in love he was. She said something that made him laugh and he grabbed her hand to pull her in and just gave her a simple kiss on the forehead. I don’t know why, but I’ve always been a sucker for those forehead kisses. I’ve decided that the first guy who kisses my forehead, that’s when “I’ll know.”

Okay, so maybe I’m being a little dramatic when I say I’ll marry the first guy who kisses my forehead. But it just seems like such an easy, simple way to express love without saying a word. I guess I just don’t like to hear the words all that much. I mean, I do… it is nice and all to hear someone say I love you, but I’m all about the doer. The everyday actions- some people need to hear it and some people need to experience it.

So, I guess the big question on my mind right now is… how do we truly love one another? Throughout scripture it talks about loving; loving each other, loving God and loving enemies above ourselves. I’m not talking about just saying the words that you love others first, but living as a true Christian, which is not a feeling or a sentence- It’s a lifestyle. So, how do we live out the lifestyle?

In the book, The Reason for God, Timothy Keller discusses the differences between religions. He states, “… Christianity has within itself remarkable power to explain and expunge the diverse tendencies within the human heart.” The diverse tendencies within the human heart that primarily consist of; pride, greed, anger and selfishness. If this is considered to be the nature of the human heart, it makes it very difficult to love others.  And these tendencies certainly make it difficult to give up yourself completely for someone else’s complete happiness, or contentment.

I know I’ve been talking so much about the book, Blue Like Jazz, but like Timothy Keller, Donald Miller is amazing. (And Miller has a blog if anyone is interested!) I loved the humor in his honesty he gave throughout the book. One chapter that I found especially significant was the Chapter on Love. He was writing about how he could not receive love, even God’s.  He wrote about his personal struggles in relationships and ended the chapter with the statement; God’s love will never change us if we don’t accept it.

I never really thought twice about whether or not I could receive God’s love until my Prophetic prayer at St. Andrews. In fact, I think I thought of God’s love as more of a fearful thing, rather than an amazing gracious act he gives to each of us. I thought there were millions of people who were experiencing difficulties and trials that needed his love way more than I did.  Then, I had my prophetic appointment. Each of the three ladies hit the nail right on the head. I was having trouble experiencing and accepting God’s love. I was living with the fear in the Lord, but without the love of the Lord. You need both, we all need balance.

So today I started thinking… can you really truly, madly, deeply love others the way God calls you to, without accepting his love? No, there’s no way. If we never accept his love, then he can’t possibly change our hearts and therefore there is absolutely no way possible to love others considering the prideful, selfish nature of every human’s heart.

I guess this is all starting to make sense to me. Right now Samuel 17:47 just keepings ringing through my head…

All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the LORD saves; for the battle is the LORD’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.”

It’s time to let down my sword, take off the battle armor and accept the amazing unconditional love of the Lord. I’m ready to let him change my heart and start loving others the way we were called to.

