UGH! Does anyone else have the problem of never being able to find that one missing shoe when you need it? I was on the way to Starbucks tonight to write this blog and couldn’t find one of my shoes. Yes, I know I have 5 other pairs that would go with this outfit… but I want to wear THIS pair. So annoying. Anyways, I promise this blog isn’t about shoes. A little off topic, but I needed to add a little rant and rave section like Craigslist. 

Last night I got a sort of random text from my 1st ever high school boyfriend. We exchanged a few back and forth and we swapped book recommendations. I recommended, Crazy Love (Which is amazing, read it in a day) and he told me to read Blue Like Jazz. So far, so GREAT! 

I often forget about what a great Christian family he comes from. I probably often forget because it was just 10 years ago that we dated, in the 10th grade. I was probably the most lost girl in my high school at the time. But, looking back I can totally see God trying to use them to get to me. Something didn’t quite click all the way, with the whole Christian thing… but yet something did stick a little if you know what I mean. Sorry that’s probably the most confusing sentence to everyone, but I get it. For about a year I went to church every Sunday with his family and his mom gave me my first daily devotional. I have two memories that stand out to me the most during this time. 

The first; One Sunday going to Church, then to Pemaquid point light house with his family and stopping to get dairy queen ice cream on the way home. They would always get banana splits, I think it was because they had coupons, or it was 2 for 1. Regardless, I wasn’t complaining. TC, my boyfriend at the time had the biggest obsession with listening to Billy Joel and we all listened to him the entire car ride singing at the top of our lungs. His parents kept laughing and rolling their eyes. Now looking back I’m pretty sure they were cracking up at how horrible my voice was. To this day my skin still crawls a little when hearing a Billy Joel song. 

The second; I wrote earlier that his mom got me my first daily devotional. Well, I used go to all the high school swim meets and decided I wanted to bring a book to read. I brought this book and read it next to his mom, not realizing it was a DAILY devotional… not a book to read in one sitting. After I was done with it, I realized that and was so embarrassed. She never said a word to me and she probably doesn’t even remember that… but for some reason it has just always stuck in my head. 

Just for the record I have to let ya’ll know we won homecoming Queen and King my junior year. The thought of this actually happening is absolutely HILARIOUS to me because we had to be the biggest dorks in the entire school. To this day I swear it was rigged. I tried to find a picture… but I think I ripped them all up during the break-up. (Just Kidding!) They’re somewhere at my moms. Maybe she’ll send one and I can update this post with a picture. 

The poor guy, I swear it’s amazing we are still friends. I thought I was dramatic with this break-up. I cried for over a year after that one. I think God had him send me a message to remind me that I got over that, and I can certainly move on from this one. I love how the Lord sends little subtle messages to us to let us know he’s right there and it will be ok. 

Today was an awesome day for me. Didn’t do much at all, but just felt that peace of the Lord. Somewhere along the way I stumbled upon this great quote which is so true. 

“To believe in God is the beginning. To hear Him call your name is the start. To dance in His arms is real life. The music will be fast, then slow, then fast. The steps will be both easy and complex. The lights will be sometimes bright and sometimes dim. But to miss Him and to miss the dance is to miss the life you were made for.” 

Psalm 119:105-112 

105 Your word is a lamp to my feet
and a light for my path.
 

106 I have taken an oath and confirmed it,
that I will follow your righteous laws.
 

107 I have suffered much;
preserve my life, O LORD, according to your word.
 

108 Accept, O LORD, the willing praise of my mouth,
and teach me your laws.
 

109 Though I constantly take my life in my hands,
I will not forget your law.
 

110 The wicked have set a snare for me,
but I have not strayed from your precepts.
 

111 Your statutes are my heritage forever;
they are the joy of my heart.
 

112 My heart is set on keeping your decrees
to the very end.

