It’s 10pm on a Saturday night, what are you doing? I was just thinking tonight how funny it is that on a Saturday night I’m sitting here watching 48 Hours Mystery, posting a blog. I also realized how extremely important time alone for me is- if I don’t have it, watch out! But seriously after numerous attempts from the girls at work to get me to go out, I turned them down for a cup of hot tea, my laptop, brown sugar and cinnamon ritz crackers and chocolate frosting. This time last year, there is no way I’d turn a night out on the town down… especially after a breakup. And you know what? I’m perfectly content with my decision.  Next weekend girls :)

I also never realized how ridiculous my workout music is… pretty much right now I’m running to Needtobreath and Ray Lamontagne. The same two songs, on repeat and considering I ran 5 miles today… you can do the math about how many times I listened to each song, a little ridiculous I know. Everyone at the gym has been making fun of me for listening to such easy going stuff, while most are getting pumped-up by there up-beat rage type music- or whatever the trendy gym music is theses days, I’m not sure.

But anyways, there’s something that just keeps me going, listening to music that I can relate to. That’s what drives me… it allows me to pray and think about what’s going on in my life and for a short time… it’s just me, some sweat and the treadmill- no other worries in the world.

Ray is completely amazing.

I guess you don’t need it,
I guess you don’t want me to repeat it,
But everything I have to give I’ll give to you.
It’s not like we planned it,
You tried to stay, but you could not stand it.
To see me shut down slow
As though it was an easy thing to do
Listen when
All of this around us’ll fall over
I tell you what we’re gonna do
You will shelter me my love
And I will shelter you
I will shelter you
I left you heartbroken, but not until those very words were spoken
Has anybody ever made such a fool out of you
It’s hard to believe it
Even as my eyes do see it
The very things that make you live are killing you
Listen when all of this around us’ll fall over
I tell you what we’re gonna do
You will shelter me my love
I will shelter you

This song has had so many meanings to me at different times over this past year, and now when I listen to it the meaning continues to change. I still can’t tell what the outcome of this song is? Sure he will shelter her, and she will shelter him… but what about the part where he left her heart broken and made a fool out of her? I guess that’s just one of my thoughts while running! It probably really doesn’t matter to most.

Anyways, I really don’t know what I’d do without my running shoes and spandex. They are truly keeping me sane right now… and of course Jesus. :)

